Great Deals At Your Fingertips…

Image

Groupon was launched back in 2008 and is currently available in 48 countries. There philosophy is “pretty simple: we treat our customers the way we like to be treated.”  Sounds too good to be true but so far as a consumer I have yet to be disappointed. The company offers daily/weekly deals, which can be redeemed at a later date. All offers appeal to the average consumer. Terms and conditions are laid out and readable so no one feels tricked. With the Groupon app, consumers can purchase, manage and redeem Groupons directly from their mobile device, which includes the iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry etc.

First you plug-in your location from the given city options. Then enter your email address and you’re in! Enjoy all that Groupon has to offer such as daily deals for local restaurants, cleaning services, travel etc. I used a Groupon deal last month for a Spanish Tapa restaurant that is normally a little up there in price. I recently saved $50 for a delicious meal and when it was time to pay, the waitress just scanned the bar code on my phone and that was that! Definitely makes me consider going and doing things I wouldn’t have wanted to waste money on before. I also have a few more deals that I just couldn’t pass up on for the summer time!

According to Murphys article “Groupon announced at the 2012 Mobile World Congress in Barcelona on Monday that it experienced a record-breaking month in December among mobile app users, as one-quarter of all Groupon vouchers were purchased via a mobile device.” They continue to have great success. Below are some methods they would like you to stay connected and feel a part of the Groupon community.

Like us on Facebook

Check out our Facebook App

See how you’re connected on LinkedIn

Follow CEO, Andrew Mason on Twitter

Groupon works with a network of merchants and service providers to promote their services to consumers by offering significant coupons or discounts to use at their businesses. Businesses can profit from instant revenue generated through Groupons large direct email network and online market place. Under Groupons current business model, Groupon charges a small marketing fee compared to the exposure. In the course of two years Groupons model has become extremely attractive for businesses seeking immediate local and occasionally national exposure.

Image

There is some type of loss due to discounted prices but the business gains so much more with exposure and buzz. Rather then pay thousands, even millions in advertising to generate the same type of WOM buzz Groupon is able to deliver at a fairly more affordable rate. It’s also appealing to companies with very little to no staff and resources.

They will continue to have great success! Take a look at the video below and see how it all works.

References:

http://mashable.com/2012/02/27/groupon-mobile-app/

http://www.groupon.com/about

About raquelat

I am a person who is positive about every aspect of life. There are many things I like to do, to see, and to experience. I love movies, I like to talk, I like to listen, I like to Travel, and I like to push myself. Happily married to my college sweetheart. I always try to be up on the latest and greatest technology. I love wedding planning. I have a Prius :) So far Life is Good!

9 responses to “Great Deals At Your Fingertips…

  1. freddtessier

    Hey Raquel –

    I absolutely LOVE Groupon!! In fact, I await their daily deals emails on a consistent basis just to see what new incentives they have out there. I received an email this morning that saved hundreds of dollars off vacation deals to many Caribbean Islands. How cool is that?! I also use Groupon to look for great dining deals and also great electronic deals. Whomever came up with this HALF-OFF deal model needs to be praised ASAP!!

    FT

  2. Raquel,

    Do you think that having as many Groupon deals dilutes the true value a firm sees when it has a promotion on the site? I feel as though the brands tend to get blended together – when I go to Groupon for dinner to a restaurant, for example, I’ll get the deal and may forget about that restaurant a few weeks later. Why would I want to go back and pay full price, when I know I can go back on the site and get a new deal for a new restaurant and not have to worry about paying full price? It may help with brand recognition and “free” promotion, but how long do you think that truly lasts for?

    Brendan

    • Good point Brendan. The deal is really what drives business for me. The restaurant I went to is normally 100 for 2 people so If I go back, it will be for drinks or until the next deal.

  3. Hi Raquel-
    Although I have heard of Groupon I have not used them. I have used a local social media app which is similar: http://www.vivamanchvegasdeals.com/
    I am mixed on the value…a good deal/offer could let me know of something I was unaware of and get me to try something new/different and win me over as a customer at standard prices. However as is noted if the deal is so good and the regular pricing is high and not something I would be compelled to visit regularly I may mention it to others in passing but I may not be come a regular of the product/service.

    Mi

  4. I love all the links, pictures, and movies you included in your post.

    The only recommendation I have is adding some more benefits/features of the App for the consumer (which also translates into more business for the store). For example, the ability for your mobile device to know where you are, and find ads to places that you are near. Also, some other features that you can do from your smart phone that you would not be able to using traditional paper coupons or even a Website from your home computer.

Leave a comment

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

RAT Time

May 2012
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 1,693 hits